I hear a voice outside my bedroom window

Voices

Voices

We woke up this morning to a voice outside our window. As I listened to it, I realized that  a person was walking down the street and speaking to herself.

I got my tea and my iPad and went in the back yard. There I sat and then I heard my own voice. You know the one that states you can’t do it. That the day has too many things in it to get it accomplished. The voice that questions why I think that I can make a difference in this world, this community.

I had to silence my own voice and sit quietly listening to God’s voice speak truth into me. The voice that states that God is in control, the voice that God will take care of the lilies and sparrows and for sure will take care of me. The voice that brings peace to my soul.

Now an hour later she is still walking back and forth and I can hear her conversation of heart-break continue. Will I be brave enough to go out there and speak God’s peace into her? Maybe get her the help she needs? Or will I leave her struggle with her own hurt?

What if she s aggressive? What if she is mean? But she, just like I, needs to hear God’s voice of peace, maybe through me as I listen to her for a few minutes.

Well, I went out…. brought her a cup of tea and listened for a while. She did not make sense, but I looked her in the eyes and listened! By  now neighbors had called the cops but they drove by us to investigate another crime. I am sure they will be back; hopefully they will get her some help. (by the way – nothing brings neighbors together better than a nuisance or crime.)

So, off to work I go. Today I want to listen to God’s voice… hear that He still active in our neighborhoods and that he uses ordinary people to accomplish bigger things.